Mannion makes second watch list

Mannion makes second watch list

OREGON STATE senior quarterback Sean Mannion has been named to the 2014 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List. He is one of 39 signal callers on the initial list.

Sean Mannion, who has 32 career starts to his credit, has rewritten the Oregon State and Pac-12 Conference record books. In 2013, Mannion set the league’s single season passing record with 4,662 yards and a school-record with 37 touchdown tosses. He ranks second in OSU history – and 10th in Pac-12 history – with 10,436 career yards through the air.

Mannion is just 1,802 yards away from passing former USC QB Matt Barkley for No. 1 on the all-time conference list (12,237).

In recent weeks, Mannion won the Elite 11 counselors’ challenge and last week was the winner at the 2014 Manning Passing Academy Air-It-Out Challenge.

This year’s list was selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2014 college football season. All nominees were required to have started at least one college game previously.

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O’Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Nov. 3. The foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 24. The 2014 Davey O’Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 11.

The 38th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 16, 2015 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Beaver Preseason Watch Lists
Michael Doctor, Sr., LB – Lott IMPACT Trophy (top defender)
Connor Hamlett, Sr., TE – Mackey Award (most outstanding tight end)
Sean Mannion, Sr., QB – Maxwell Award (player of the year), Davey O’Brien Award (nation’s best quarterback)
Richard Mullaney, Jr., WR – Biletnikoff Award (outstanding college receiver)
Steven Nelson, Sr., CB – Bronko Nagurski Trophy (most outstanding defensive player)
Isaac Seumalo, Jr., C – Rimington Trophy (premier center), Outland Trophy (most outstanding interior lineman), Rotary Lombardi Award (college lineman of the year) Recommended Stories

  • THE ISAAC SEUMALO WATCH began in the spring after he broke his foot this past December in the Hawaii Bowl. Then it continued all the way through fall camp. As the regular season began and the weeks…

  • REDSHIRT FRESHMAN SAFETY Justin Strong remains listed as the No. 2 strong safety on the depth chart. But it’s hard to imagine Beaver fans won't see a good deal of him at Stanford based on his…

  • SAN FRANCISCO -- Some quick hit comments from Pac-12 commissioner Larry Scott on the state of the Pac-12 and some new initiatives that are coming this men's basketball season, including an update on…

  • The Kansas City Chiefs aren't exactly known for their passing attack; however, Dr. Roto does have a man-crush on one KC receiver in Week 8. Dwayne Bowe (pictured above) has yet to score a touchdown or…

  • CHAPEL HILL, N.C. — The Wainstein report released on Wednesday provided insight into the NCAA’s reopening of its infractions case at North Carolina this summer and also highlighted potential academic…

Up Next